Skip to content

St Mary’s College Prizes

Professor Swan and his students, [?] by Thomas Rodger.  1870.  Image courtesy of University of St Andrews Library.   ALB-1-143
Prizes were awarded for general proficiency in each class at the end of the session.

Gray prize.

Founded 1808 by Dr. John Gray of Paddington. One prize valued at £8 for best essay on a prescribed subject.

Cook and Macfarlan testimonial.

Instituted in 1847 along with a similar prize in Glasgow University as a memorial to Professor Cook, St Andrews University and Principal Macfarlan of Glasgow. Worth £21 and open to divinity students who have been three years at a Scottish University and wish to enrol at St Mary’s College for a fourth or additional session. Awarded by special examination. Trustees – Principal and professors of St Mary’s College and Professors of Greek and Moral Philosophy of United College and a senior member of St Andrews Presbytery.

Chancellor’s prize.

Given annually by current Chancellor. Valued at £10 in books and awarded after a written competition. Open to all senior students.