Skip to content

United College Prizes

Gray prize.

University Library and Principal’s house, by Hugh Lyon Playfair, 1845. Image courtesy University of St Andrews Library.  ALB-6-38

Founded 1808, though awarded annually for some years earlier, by Dr John Gray of Paddington. Worth £8 for an essay on a prescribed subject. Patron – Senatus Academicus.

Carstairs prize in mathematics.

Founded 1834 by Dr John Carstairs of Stratford Green. Awarded in each of the three Mathematics classes to a total value of c. £9.14/- – Gold medal in highest class and books in Classes 1 and 2.

Miller prize for general scholarship.

Founded 1853 by Henry Miller, “a native of Scotland”. Fund yields c.£60 a year, providing 12 prizes awarded to each of the three best students in each of the four years. Special examination in specified subjects, which in early years included French and German, which were not then part of the University curriculum.

Duncan mathematics prize.

Founded in 1858 by former pupils of Professor Thomas Duncan, LLD. Awarded by competition among students who have attended 2nd and 3rd classes in separate sessions. Worth c. £14 annually.

Bruce of Grangehill and Falkland logic prize.

Founded in 1865 by Mrs Tyndall Bruce of Falkland. Worth £10 annually and awarded by competition.

Arnott prizes in natural philosophy.

Founded in 1869 by Dr Neil Arnott with a capital sum of £1000 to yield c. £42 annually to provide two prizes- divided two to one. Awarded on examination at the end of the session. Candidates must hold a place in the first rank of honours in either Natural Philosophy or Chemistry and must be in the honours list for the other and must have attended one in the year in which they compete. Students may compete only once.

Tullis prizes in mathematics.

Funded in 1876 by William Tullis, Rothes, an alumnus, who provided a fund of £700 to produce c. £11.10/- annually. Prizes to be awarded to best student in first and second classes.

Forrester prize in chemistry.

Founded in 1887 by Walter Forrester, MA(St Andrews), who provided £300 to provide one prize of  c.£13 to the best student of the year.

Natural history prize.

£20 presented annually by a gentleman interested in fisheries to the best student who can spend some time on scientific fisheries work at the Marine Laboratory.