Skip to content

St Mary’s College Presentation Bursaries

Bell or Dron bursary.

Dr John Adamson, by Robert Adamson 1844.  Image courtesy of University of St Andrews Library.  ALB-24-96-2

Founded 1663 by Rev. William Bell, minister at Errol. One bursary worth c. £20 tenable for one year, but bursar generally reappointed for the duration of his course. Preference to the son of a minister in Perth presbytery then to the son of a merchant of Perth. Patron – Presbytery of Perth.

Patrick Yeaman bursary.

Founded 1675 by Patrick Yeaman, Dundee. One bursary worth c. £11, tenable for four years. Preference to surname Yeaman or Kinnaird and bursar to be MA. Patron – Rait of Anniston.

Moncrieffe bursary.

Founded 1701 by Sir Thomas Moncrieffe. One bursary of c.£10, tenable for four years. Patron – Sir Robert D. Moncrieffe Bt.

Garvie bursary.

Founded 1831 by Rev. William Garvie, minister at Aberdalgie. Two bursaries of c. £26 each annually, tenable for four years. Preference to the name Garvie, then sons of ministers and members of Perth Presbytery then to persons born in or belonging to Perth or Aberdalgie parish.

Craig Buchanan bursary.

Founded 1846 by Rev. Dr. George Craig Buchanan, minister at Kinross. One bursary worth c. £12 annually, tenable for four years. For natives of Kinross parish, whom failing parish of Cleish, whom failing parish of Orwell, whom failing parish of Dunfermline. Preference to names of Dalziel, Buchanan or Craig. Patrons – Kirk Session of Kinross.