Skip to content

University College Bursaries & Scholarships

Entrance scholarships.

Armistead scholarships.

Library, St Andrews University, by John Fairweather, 1898.  Image courtesy of University of St Andrews Library.   StAU-SouS-Lib-3

Founded 1883 by George Armistead, M.P. Three of £20 each tenable for one year and three of £15 each tenable for one year. Awarded after competition.

Second year scholarships.

Three Armistead scholarships of £20 each, tenable for one year; one in arts, two in science and medicine. Awarded after competition.

Bursaries in engineering.

Smart bursary.

Founded March 1883 by James Smart, Brechin. The proceeds of £500 tenable for one year.

Laing bursary.

Founded 1890 by bequest of James Laing. The proceeds of £450 tenable for one year.

A special examination is held for either of these bursaries.

Patrick A. Lowson memorial scholarship.

Worth c. £60 annually and tenable for two years at any University in the United Kingdom. Candidates must have attended a school in Dundee or Broughty Ferry for three years. Special examination by external trustees.

Government aid.

From 1886 the Government paid ¾ of course fees towards instruction of science teachers.