Browse Monasticon

Title Dedication Region Date Founded Date Terminated
Iseure 6C 1151
Mariengarten Mary (needs verification) 1245 1543 (circa)
S. Maria in Trastevere 1223-1228
Breuil 6K 700-799 (8th century)?. Refounded: 1096 for monks. 1037 -- destroyed by fire
Nivelles-en-Brabant Brabant 647-650
S. Cristofol de Manresa Catalonia 1268 1461
Westminster 1040 or earlier 1050 (circa)
Wenlock 690 or before 1066 or before; A 901 charter is the last evidence of women residing at this double monastery
Benedette d'Assisi 1496 or earlier
S. Giovanni Battista John the Baptist Tuscany 1286 (circa) 1808
S. Maria Saint Mary Tuscany 1043 or earlier 1500-1599 (16th c.)
Antwerp Mariendaal Antwerp 1354
Vallauris 6S 1227
S. Felice Piedmont 1186 (circa)
Minster in Thanet St. Mildrith/Mildred Kent 669-90 1011
S. Giovanni Battista nel Borgo di San Luca Piedmont
S. Bernardo Marche 1481 -- Closed by Sixtus IV and the goods were transferred to the monks of the monastery of Maria della racce (also in Offida)
S. Cecilia di Piombinara Cecilia LZ 1182 or earlier
S. Hieronymus 1384
Na Frantisku ca. 13th century
Encloitre-en-Chaufournois 6F 1108 or earlier
Carrick-on-Suir Tipperary 1385 or earlier (needs verification) 1542 or earlier (needs verification)
Benoitvaux 6G 1200-1299 (13th century)
Campsey S. Mary Suffolk 1195 1536
Lons-le-Saunier 6H 1200-1299 (13th century)
S. Magdalena i S. Margarita de Castellbisbal late 13th century
Königshofen an der Heide S. Mary (Maria) 1422 1478, female; (1495) male
le Perray-aux-Nonnains 6P 1247
Heilig Grab 1365 (circa) 1803
la Rochelle 6R 1180 (circa)
Adelhausen Bavaria (Bayern) 1245 or earlier 1867
S. Lucia 1518 (See "Incorporated By," below)
S. Girolamo Tuscany 1500 or earlier 1810
S. Anna Saint Anne Tuscany 722
S. Croce Holy Cross Tuscany
Vitry-en-Perthois 6G 1235 (circa)
S. Barnaba Apulia 1100-1170 1177 or later
Orford S. Mary Lincolnshire 1153-1156 (circa) 1539
Flixton S. Mary and S. Andrew Yorkshire 925-940 (traditional date) 1537 (needs verification)
S. Chiara Santa Chiara Marche 1483 (circa) 1810 (14 July), by Napoleon. Restored after 4 years, but supressed again in 1860 when the Piedmontese occupied Umbria and Marche
S. Cesario sull'Appia Cesarius LZ 1400 or later (needs verification) 1443
S. Anna Emilia-Romagna 1409
Boulancourt 6G 1150 (circa)
Cork Saint John the Baptist Cork 1297 1540 or earlier (needs verification)
Migette 6H 1321 (circa)
Salmannshofen John the Baptist 1282 1401
Marburghausen S. John the Baptist (currently) 1236-7 1580-1582 (circa)
Alost Brabant 1096
S. Geoires-en-Valdaine 6U 1300 (circa)
Dietkirchen S. Peter 1015 or earlier